S.F.3.D. Fireball Original

by bookindian

Spent about 4 hours today working on my Fireball S.F.3.D. Space Type kit model, ca. 1981/82. The model is a 1/20 scale of a mechanized mobile armor suit.

SF3D

S.F.3.D. Original - Fireball S.A.F.S. Space Type

There is a long history surrounding the S.F.3.D. kit models and their designer Kow Yokoyama.

This kit has been lurking about since its purchase in Little Tokyo like around 1981 or 1982; I also purchased another kit at the same time, a 1/48 scale Orguss Tank, that looks a lot like a transformer (more on this kit later).

SF3D

Bottom of the kit box

The S.F.3.D. kit models are or were being produced by Wave in Japan, using the original S.F.3.D. molds. I’ve included two photographs of the sprus showing the NITTO and S.F.3.D. Origiinal brands.

I learned that it is not wise to paint the parts before assembling!!
WTF, what did I know – I realized my mistake after viewing photographs of completed Gundam “builds” that were posted on dannychoo.com. Thanks to the Gundam ota for the links and tutorials, all of which reminded me to pay more attention to detail, not just in building mecha, but in everyday activities as well.

SF3D

Instruction sheet

Most photos show where I removed seamlines after I had painted the assembled pieces. getting too wordy, so I’ll let the captions do the talking . . .

SF3D

S.F.3.D. Original

SF3D

Brand plate on spru

SF3D

Feet, arms and a sense of scale

SF3D

Part of the right leg

SF3D

Upper left and right leg sections

SF3D

Left leg partially assembled

I had forgotten how small in scale this mecha was . . .

SF3D

Left leg assembled

SF3D

Some detail

SF3D

Left hand, right leg

SF3D

It's alive, alive . . .

After doing some additional research on Kow Yokoyama and the S.F.3.D. kit models for about an hour this evening, I decided to work on the Fireball again tomorrow.

Have a safe New Year.

