Avant Garde #2

by bookindian

Avant Garde #2
The Marilyn Monroe Trip: A Portfolio of Serigarphic Prints by Bert Stern

MM

The cover

Lost the light indoors, so I went outside to do the shoot; the sun was just down . . . I like ambient light.

MM

First page

When I was 9 or 10 years old, I was introduced to Marilyn Monroe via the 1951 calendar that featured her naked on a red fabric background; Bert Stern certainly wasn’t the photographer.

MM

I had just come home from school and was getting ready to do things that boys do when they get away from the confines of the classroom.

MM

. . . mmmmmm . . .

But fate intervened and I was told by my mother that I probably needed a “nap”, so I should go and lie down. My mother’s two sisters were sitting in the living room with my mother.

MM

Close-up

Needless to say, I protested and was close to crying, but I decided to “humor” my mother and headed to the bedroom. I sat on the lower bunk and took my shoes off, then swung my feet and rolled onto the bed.

MM

. . . no comment

As I lay back I saw her . . . there she was, naked, about 1/3 my size, hovering above me . . . as glorious as Goya’s Maja desnuda, a sight that would fuel my feverish adolescent dreams for years to come (the calendar was taped to the bottom of the top bunk).

MM

. . . two pages

I don’t know whatever happened to that calendar, but I do remember that afternoon as if it all happened yesterday.

MM

. . . right page close-up . . .

MM

Left page . . .

So enjoy . . .

MM

. . . overload . . .

MM

. . . close-up

MM

. . . ibid.

MM

. . . another . . .

MM

. . .

MM

. . . just Marilyn . . .

MM

I would like to have this portfolio . . .

MM

. . . fin . . .

MM

. . . can't feel , no arms . . .

