Polaroid by Poladroid

by bookindian

Well, here’s a look at 5 Polaroid cameras that I have lying about. The Polaroid “Cool Cam” got some heavy use up until about 2002; the 800 was a “suddenly appearing” addition to my camera armory – it was never used simply because I didn’t have access to film for the beast.

POLAROID

Polaroid 800 - bigger than it looks . . .

. . . wish I could get a box of film, I would love to play with the 800 for a day or two. There is one flaw: a scratch on the exterior surface of the lens – only shooting with the camera would determine how serious the scratch is.

POLAROID

Close-up of the 800 lens board . . .

POLAROID

Open with bellows closed

POLAROID

. . . bellows extended

Let’s have a quick look at the SX-70

POLAROID

The SX-70 ready for launch . . .

My father bought this beauty when they first became available, but I haven’t found any prints from the camera.

POLAROID

Polaroid print simulation by Poladroid

I have found that a well exposed image run through the Poladroid app produces a good “Polaroid” replica print.

POLAROID

This Polaroid camera was my workhorse before the proliferation of small affordable digital cameras – I documented most of my field work with it and still have many of the photos.

POLAROID

Ready for work . . .

I still had one pack of film for the 600 and surprisingly, the battery was fully operational, the film, after being stored in less than optimal conditions, was not very good.

POLAROID

. . . print from OLD, OLD film pack.

With all the rumors about Polaroid producing film again, it doesn’t seem like it will become a reality.

POLAROID

This camera used several different types of Polaroid film packs – I was very fond of the positive/negative film pack. You got a black and white print AND a negative!! If you wanted a good print image, then you exposed for print quality, but, the negative was thin and resembled an underexposed 35mm or 2 1/4 square black and white negative or an overexposed color transparency. So, you had to decide what you wanted as the final product, good print or a usable negative.

POLAROID

Poladroid squareness . . .

If you wanted a negative that you could pull large prints from, you had to expose for the negative and settle for a washed out print.

One thing I forgot to add about the pos/neg film packs was that you had to “clear” of “fix” the neg just like any silver-based film – Polaroid produced a plastic “bucket” for the sodium sulfite solution in which to “fix” your neggies. I think I have my bucket laying about somewhere.

POLAROID

. . . a great camera for experimentation . . .

POLAROID

The logic behind this Polaroid release is baffling – it resembled the 110 format film cameras but was not “pocket-size” as suggested by its name (Instant Pocket Camera). I bought one and only used it once . . . ??

POLAROID

How many were sold??

That’s 5, right . . . ??

POLAROID

The old 600 film pack and some prints

Prints 9 and 10 failed to eject, print number 10 is still in the film pack . . . archived.

POLAROID

i-zone print and 600 film pack

Some scale for the i-zone print . . . it’s the postage stamp thing just off center.

