My iPod Touch (iTouch)

by bookindian

I just finished shooting some photos of my hand holding my iPod Touch (hereafter “iTouch“). Why did I do this? I wanted to show why I will buy the BIG brother of my iTouch. I will use BB to refer to Apple’s latest gadget.

PAD

First of all, I have rather large fingers and sometimes my fingers tend to touch the wrong keys on the screen of my iTouch and I have to make numerous corrections – I haven’t figured out a method for typing on the small keyboard – one finger, thumb and forefinger or left thumb and right forefinger . . . I’ve become fairly proficient with one finger (sort of a modified “touch” typing methodology).

PAD

Why do people think it’s necessary to “multi-task” – that hyphenated word has been used to explain why some people don’t like Apple’s BB. When I hear the term “multi-tasking” I think of people texting or chatting on their cell-phone while driving or standing in line at the combini or walking along on the sidewalk. Most of the data-sharing activities that these “multi-taskers” are involved in is pretty inconsequential , so I’m not impressed . . .

. . . yeh, I’ve been updating (correcting Sp and such) as I read what is up.

Some apps that are on my iTouch: Twittelator lets me post tweets, Pacman, Randgrid (synth app), Blogwriter (lets me post to WordPress), and of course, Safari, iTunes, Notes (which I use extensively), the MobileStudio app, YouTube and Maps to name a few. Oh yeh, forgot the App Store.

PAD

PAD

PAD

Any text that I create on the iTouch can be emailed to the Lektronik couch for editing later or I can post text and add photos later – I’m not a live blogger or a slave to technology – my keitai, iTouch and computers are tools that I use to communicate. I do not chat nor do I need a little camera eye poking into my life and sharing my mug with the world.
If I have photos to share they are taken with my Canon EOS 10D or Flip Mino HDand posted when I make time for sharing them.

When I buy the BB it will allow me to eliminate some of the intermediate drills that I now go through – plus I will have a large screen for my games and photos.

PAD

PAD

The ghost image in the center of the above photo is from the next photo in the slide show that was loading as I captured the primary image (self-portrait).

One of the real applications of the BB will be its ability to function in the capacity of a virtual portfolio – I will be able to show large images of my work (dolls, graphics, and photos of the type of work that I have done or that are in progress) – there won’t be a need to haul a bulky portfolio around to show to potential clients or interested people. Yeh, and I can e-mail images or documents . . . and did you fan-boys check out the protective case? . . . transforms into a very handy easel for doing laptop style of typing . . .

So if all you are interested in doing is social networking, browsing the internet, etc., etc., etc., then the BB is not for you.

There was a comment posted on a jp blog yesterday in which the person said that he or she was going to get a Wacom Cintiq rather than spend money on the “iPad“. O.K. the Cintiq is a graphics tablet, so go buy it !!

Snack time is over . . . the photos are up.

Sleep on this . . . Elko Nevada on I-80 is is one giant wifi hotspot – the whole town is wired – the town is smaller than Reno and would hardly be a pimple on Tokyo’s butt, but they are WIRED !!
Elko, my kind of town . . .

