Atomic Robo

by bookindian

Atomic Robo

ROBO

Any “Atomic Robo” fans out there?

ROBO

I’ve just been reading “Atomic Robo“, a comic on my iPod, courtesy of the “Comixology” app that I bought on the iTunes store a few months back. The graphics are great and the story line is believable – humor, sci-fi and good old “violent science” (hijacked that from the comic). When I look at the current anime stuff, I can understand why interest is waning – no sex or violence except in the hentai/eroge manga and there’s a bit of complaining from those fans because of the proliferation of “rape” or g-b (gang-bang). The Gundam anime is a bit more interesting – got a story history for reference and believable plots.

ROBO

Great feature of the “Comixology” app is that if you stop reading and close the app, when you re-open it, your comic opens on the page and panel where you stopped reading.

ROBO

The mobile version of “Atomic Robo” is very well drawn, got great colour and the dialog is pure “old school” comic book! I buy the hardcopy issues when I can find them.

ROBO

I’m thinking that the “appeal” of the mobile comic app is the fact that you hold it in your hand just like a “real” comic book and turn the pages, albeit with your finger . . . but WTF, it works for me.

ROBO

I didn’t think to include some photos of images on the Touch, so maybe a bit later I’ll add a few for comparative purposes.

ROBO

The photos in this post are from a “Free Comic Book Day” issue and the “graphic novel” edition of Atomic Robo that I bought a my local comic book store. The graphic novel is actually a collection of Atomic Robo stories that are available for the iPhone/iPod Touch from Comixology.

Looking forward go getting my iPod’s big brother and relaxing with my “Comixology” tomes on the “BIG” screen.

Some props for the iPod Touch (and its soon to be released big brother, the iPad) – my workspace is not wifi enabled, so when I take a break from the OVD project, I usually fire-up the Touch and tap out content for my blog, then when I get back to the “couch” I e-mail the text on the iPod to myself, then copy the text to my text editor and from there to WordPress. Oh yeh, with the new WP mobile app I can post directly to my blog if I choose to.

