Reno eNVy – Murals

by bookindian

. . . eNVy, a little play on words – NV, abbreviation for Nevada . . .

I’ve become a fan of the Biggest Little City, Tony Bennett left his heart in San Francisco, and for me, Reno has become like a home-away-from-home – the more I see of Reno, the more I become attracted to it – never felt that way about “the City“.

Here is one of the reasons for the growing fascination:

RENO

One week ago I was driving on Virginia Street about two blocks south of Liberty and out of the corner of my left eye I caught a glimpse of a mural on the side of a building – switches tripped and I logged the location in the old gray cells for a return trip to photograph the site – being directly east of the Wild Orchid helped . . . !!

RENO

When I returned to Reno today, I was a bit early to pick-up my daughter (due to lack of traffic) and stopped off to photograph my previous “find” – after parking the car and unlimbering the Canon 10D, I set out to record this incredible stencil, brush and spray can masterpiece.

RENO

There were two other mural sites that I photographed (I visited a total of three sites) and these had been commissioned as well.

Close inspection of the murals revealed detail and a sophistication often only associated with paintings exhibited in established “fine art” galleries . . . this example of outdoor art is considerably different from the previous post I did on the graffiti panels located on Highway 95 south of the town of Mina – yeh, the stuff I saw today is on a whole different level – well thought-out and the craftsman-ship is outstanding.

RENO

no caption

RENO

south of Liberty Street

RENO

RENO

RENO

. . . no special order for these images . . .

RENO

Stencil detail . . .

RENO

close-up

RENO

Reno has proven to be a repository of classic old school architecture, contemporary structures, fine art (the Nevada State Museum has “the Girl”, beating out museums in New York and Tokyo), and of course, the “street” art (sculpture and murals).

A special “thank you” to “the ink tank” creator of this masterpiece
. . . and for “making my day” !!

