The Rabbit . . . Whole

by bookindian

The Rabbit . . . Whole

With the pending release of Tim Burton’sAlice in Wonderland” I thought I’d have a look at “Alice” on the internet – lots of stuff tagged “Alice In Wonderland 2010” or ‘Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland“. I also decided to check out prices for Salvador Dali’sAlice’s Adventures in Wonderland” portfolio. But first I had to have a look at Alice Liddell as photographed by Charles Dodgson (Lewis Carroll) in 1858 . . . again – must be the “pedo” in me. LOL . . .

ALICE

(The photograph of Alice Liddell was downloaded from Wikipedia)

I’m definitely going to see Tim Burton’s movie. Yeh, and I’m going to see “Avatar, The Last Airbender” too, it’s on my “must see” list.

ALICE

Have you seen the CM for the Kia Sorrento?? The one with the robot, the “sock” monkey and the knobby dildo (there are two versions – one with the monkey riding the mecha bull and the other where he’s at the “rave”) . . . I wonder if the people at Kia really understand what that red bumpy thing is . . . LOL !!

ALICE

My real purpose for this post is to share some photographs of my “copy” of “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” illustrated by Salvador Dali. The “workingman’s” edition (1/2500 to 2500/2500 on Mandeure paper) #1167/2500 (with watermark) cost: $300 USD in 1969.

ALICE

Today (2/24/10) I shot some quick & dirty snaps of “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland“. I also checked the Internet for current values – WOH !! – Nice $300 dollar investment some 40 years ago.

ALICE

The “book” is not really a book in the usual sense – it is not bound, but is comprised of a group of “Loose signatures collected in a cloth wrap housed inside a large clam-shell case with cloth boards and gilt decorated leather spine.”

ALICE

ALICE

The frontispiece or title page, is signed in pencil; the etching and frontispiece are printed on a single sheet with the etching on the left – I inserted a sheet of acid free paper between the halves to keep the etching from transferring to the title page when “closed”.

ALICE

ALICE

. . . a tale of a tail . . .

ALICE

Queen of Hearts . . . one of several illustrations that I consider to be the “best” in the portfolio.

ALICE

A closer look at the print . . .

ALICE

More detail . . .

I bought this in 1969 or 1970, at a bookstore on 2nd Street in Long Beach, California. It’s traveled with me to South Gate, Cerritos, Paramount, Seal Beach, Huntington Beach and finally here, to the mountain valley in eastern Cali-land.

All images in this post are the property of Maecenas Press & Random House, New York, USA, unless otherwise noted. Copyright 1969, All Rights Reserved.

