A Paper Doll to Call MY Own

by bookindian

Theme and Variation

Somehow music plays in the development of my projects, that is, it’s like being handed a “chart”, a score sheet, with some chords or notes scribbled on it . . . what do you do with it? If you’re a jazz man, you play it (the theme) through and the next time through, you play a variation of the original melody, you improvise. And that’s what happens when I look at things; I see a visual “theme”, something that could be used as a point of departure for a “variation”, a modification, something to improvise on.

I’m like the old blues guitar player who said when asked “what’s next Jimmy?” Jimmy replied, “. . . you name ‘em an I’ll play ‘em . . .

I’ve been trying to move past the 3D OVD to something that is more mainstream. that’s when I remembered the “flat” Japanese paper dolls that I’ve seen, I said. “Yeh . . .”, that’s what I’d been looking for . . . after all, the OVD is a “variation” on the Japanese kokeshi and the Hopi katsin-tithu, why not take it a bit farther.

Once again while wandering the “dreamtime”, the idea for another variation of the OVD came knock – knock, knocking . . . and once I got to the bis, I started measuring and sketching and doing some previs (previsualization) for the final design.

So here’s like two hours of R&D crammed into some photos.

DOLL

. . . first variation on the theme.

DOLL

OVD theme . . .

DOLL

Page ! of the OVD chart . . .

DOLL

. . . page 2

DOLL

Mat board template . . .

DOLL

First and second movements . . .

DOLL

3rd movement: exposition . . .

DOLL

This the “CON“, where the conductor stands . . . and consumes mass quantities of Pepsi . . .

BTW – I figured out the total number of hours from the start of the research to the cutting of 4 torsos and heads from a sheet of Bristol board – 8 hours. Sounds a bit mercenary, but you need to know if what you’re doing has the potential for being profitable.

Gotta see if I can get Karl Lagerfeld to collaborate on some fashionable dresses for the new dolls . . .

DOLL

This is “the bis” . . . all the essentials fit in a reusable shopping bag, black nylon, of course (not too demode).

