JUNE 24th

by bookindian

June pin-up . . . June Wilkinson . . . yeh, I know the month’s almost over, and it’s just about Friday, but . . .

JUNE

Well the iPhone is alive and well . . . and android? . . . well it/they have a nice mascot/toy . . . to hang on your new iPhone . . .

Traded the Rival “rice cooker” that I got for father’s day for an Oster (which I had before . . . before I dumped water into it without the interior cooking pot inside) my new rice machine also has a steam tray . . . and makes PERFECT rice just like the old one did.

Oster Deluxe Multi-Use Rice Cooker, Model 4715

JUNE

On another subject . . . looks as though publication of 36 Views of Manzanar will become a reality in the near future, thanks to Amazon’s self-publishing branch . . . got to decide how to illustrate the content so it’s a bit more than just text . . . probably will use an old aerial photo of the site as an introduction . . . Photoshop it a bit, you know, like sketch in the Tour” route and “map tack” the various locations . . . maybe some inscriptions and a garden or two – I have beaucoup photos that can be used if necessary.

Aerial view of Manzanar War Relocation Center . . .

JUNE

Couple of cardboard reliefs for making relief prints – not proofed yet . . .

JUNE

Cardboard relief above is “positive” image (fence and gate) and the image below is the “negative” or background “block” . . .

JUNE

I also have the tour road brochure I designed for MNHS to use as a reference.

Photographed a “snow” lantern and a “lighthouse” or stone beacon out in Block 15 a few days ago (posted some fotos couple of days ago) . . . I might include one or two snaps . . . maybe in a photo appendix.

. . . first time I’ve seen prayer flags at the Manzanar cemetery . . .

JUNE

An unusual fabric “offering” . . .

JUNE

I should include some pics of artifacts, like marbles and broken ceramics (cups and plates, etc,).

Six poems from the unpublished manuscript 36 Views of Manzanar are included in the book β€œThe Dirt is Red Here: Art and Poetry for Native California” . . . “Dog Policy“, “B Street“, “Pear Orchard“, “Kami“, “Pilgrimage“, and “No Thought“.

No Thought – – – “. . . near the old bamboo . . . there is one stone that fits my ass just so . . .

The Dirt is Red Here” was edited by Margaret Dubin and published by Heyday Books in Berzerkley, CA.

. . . so here it is a few hours later and I’ve been docked at the electronic couch for about 6 hours . . . looking up post related stuff, eating “lunch” at 1430 (chicken breast sauteed in olive oil (X-tra virgin of course) with green onions and garlic and pita bread – ate it without the aid of domestic table service (used my fingers) . . . chased tha main course with a “citrus salad” cup . . .

Reading Nubby’s “Link Love” (must be Thursday) . . . and had a look at galadarling.com and saw that she still uses the “hipster PDA” on occasion. I carry one in the “hip” pocket of my Levis 501’s . . . yeh, and I still have my old Compaq Aero PDA hidden under some papers somewhere . . . remember the PDA’s, forerunners of the “smartphone” . . . ??

JUNE

. . . when not in an extreme “mobile” situation (driving), I use the trusty iPod Touch cos I can blog from it and send e-mail . . . otherwise I rely on my hPDA to scribble stream-of-consciousness reamblings and “stroke-of-genius” brilliance . . . “stroke-of-genius” and “brilliance” . . . uh, is that redundant?? No matter . . .

Sent from my iPod to my e-mail and copied to the blog . . . oh technology . . .

