July – Day 2

by bookindian

JULY

Well, today I had to repair some important clothing . . . my pants. I’m a LEVI’S kinda guy and it can be embarrassing for people to be distracted by the gaping frayed hole at the bottom of my fly . . . I don’t know why my pants tend to deconstruct at this particular location . . . uh . . .

JULY

well, some other places that wear are: the left leg above the knee and the right leg just below where the pocket’s located (I think my keys are the main cause here).

JULY

. . . crap , , , talk about WORK . . . you’re probably wondering why I just don’t go buy some new LEVI’S . . . it’s like this . . . what would I do with the old ones??

JULY

and here’s the “finished” product . . .

JULY

My pants will eventually look like the vintage Japanese “ranrufuton covers and noragi . . . (farmer’s work wear) worn and worn, and repaired and repaired, and as a result – “ranru” folklore piece . . .

A vintage “boro” . . .

JULY

. . . go here for more of this vintage Japanese item . . .

I have some denim panels I fabricated two or three years ago that I’ll introduce here . . .

Panel #1

JULY

and . . . Panel #2

JULY

I plan to get some old denim jackets and sew these panels on the back . . .

#3

JULY

. . . the designs are made up of denim and other miscellaneous cotton fabric. Most of the non-denim fabric belonged to my aunt – when she died I salvaged all of her quilting material . . . some of the design elements are planned, while others are “found”, that is they are fabric remnants that are used “as is” . . . some of the designs are pieced together before they are machine stitched onto larger pieces of fabric.

My machine is a JUKI TL-98 QE . . . nothing flashy, just a dependable workhorse . . . yeh, I keep 5 bobbins ready when I’m working and I use BIG spools of thread so the only slowdown is when I need to replace an empty bobbin . . .

JULY

. . . not soup . . .

Don’t know if I mentioned it, but I use my iPod Touch to compose most of my posts . . .

JULY

I e-mail them to myself and edit them on my hand-me down Apple G4 . . . got the latest version of Leopard running with MacWord and Photoshop CS for business/production stuff.

JULY

Have a nice celebratory Monday . . .

