“boro” . . .

by bookindian

. . . started this post yesterday (Friday) . . .

The denim “haori” prototype has encountered a bit of a set-back . . . I overlooked the fact that the Japanese body is not as large as mine . . . WTF . . . How did I do that??

Here’s what happened: I was using the “old” standard width of silk fabric (13 1/2 inches) when making the panels for the garment . . . well I needed to make the panels a minimum of 15 inches or even 17 inches wide to get the kind of loose “drape” that I was trying to create. I did have an old XXL shirt that I was going to use as a rough guide, but I just powered on without it, and . . . So I will be ripping seams and making some adjustments . . .

COAT

i snagged the sketch from this Japanese site . . . it’s a good illustration to better understand the concept of my “boro” coat. This coat/jacket will definitely be for Fall/Winter or the cooler climes . . . it’s HEAVY . . . and thick . . . Lots of layers and shapes.

“In Japan, mended and patched textiles are referred to as “boro”, or rags.”

COAT

Got to implement the “Plan – Do – Check – Act” cycle . . . W. Edwards Deming.

Saturday (1100) . . . b-coat is in the process of reconstruction . . . Bjork is supplying the necessary motivational musik . . .

Well, the additional pieces of denim (4” wide) have been sewn in place and the “coat” should be in its final stages of completion tomorrow (Sunday) . . .

Today the humidity is most disturbing . . . working with the A/C on is O.K. but once you step out the door . . .

HUP, Holland HUP !!

