The BEST Beans/Chili EVER!!

by bookindian

First, I’m not a fan of Hormel chili . . . it’s water-y and is pretty uh . . . bad. Well, the stuff was on sale 4-for-5 $$$ so how could I resist . . . anyway there was one can (15 oz.) left and I was desperate for something different and the only thing I could find was the Hormel chili (Chunky with Beans) and a can of Bush’s Black Beans (their caps not mine)(Frijoles Negros) 15 oz. size . . . so I was trying to work some magic with this canned stuff and decided to mix the black beans with the chili . . .

Well, I dumped the chili into a sauce pan, then I opened the can of black beans with a CAN OPENER, (non-motorized version), drained the juice into the sink and dumped that into the SP with the chili. So far so good . . .

Turned on the heat, still working on what to do with this concoction . . . there was a container of sliced squash (I don’t know what kind – just mottled green and white skin), quartered the slices and added them to the mix. Now for the flavor . . . what to do . . . I decided to add BBQ sauce!! Jack Daniel’s Original No. 7 Recipe . . . 5 or 6 tablespoons. I didn’t measure the stuff, just poured until it smelled right . . . tuned the heat down and let the pot simmer while I sliced some sourdough bread and knifed (spread) some margarine (Imperial) on the slices. Bought the bread a the Whole Foods store in RENO NV (froze three loaves) . . . this bread is as good when it’s thawed as when it’s fresh.

Probably the best canned grub I’ve eaten in a while . . .

BTW . . . Last night I cooked up a P.F. Chang’s frozen Beef and Broccoli thing that my wife brought home the other day . . . I ate at a P.F. Chang’s restaurant in Beechwood OH a number of years ago, before it made it to the west coast, and . . . I think the food was good . . . the frozen P.F.C. dinner was tasteless . . . the beef was O.K. but the red peppers were tough and sliced carrots were mooshy . . . AAGGHH!! Same with the mushrooms . . . I would have “doctored” the stuff, but other people were going to partake so I suffered through a “Chinese” dinner fit only for suburbia . . .

If you hunger for “Chinese” style food, get a wok, buy some veggies (snow peas, bok choy, green onions, shitake mushrooms, some 2 to 3 inch portabella “caps”), hoisin sauce, sesame oil, shoyu (soy sauce), cracked black pepper, a bottle of olive oil and a good chunk of pork loin,

Now get to work . . . these essentials will cost a bit of cash, but you can make more than one or two meals AND it will be FRESH and it will TASTE GOOD!!

