Saturday and the “rag” man

by bookindian

Aunty P here . . .

BORO

I was sitting next to the “boro” man this a.m. – in the flesh – listening to him discuss the “boro” concept project that he’s currently working on . . . V-E-R-Y interesting . . . When I asked him about ordering one of his concept pieces, he said, “I don’t take orders cos the project is still in the formative stages, you know, like research and development . . .” So does Aunty P have to wait to get her “boro” concept “piece” like everyone else? . . . yep . . . like everyone else . . . WTF!? Well, November will be here shortly and THAT’S when he plans a “showing” of his work.

BORO

The “boro” man did tell me about the “walking” foot that he installed on his JUKI before I arrived (never heard it called THAT before) . . , turns out that a “walking foot” is a thing that allows for sewing several layers of fabric without getting wrinkles and bunched-up material in the seam as you sew. POO!! I was thinking 12 inches . . . well, you know what I mean . . .

BORO

I felt a bit like Alice at the freaking tea party . . . I know there was only the two of us in his workroom, but at times it was sort of like there were three or more people all talking in unison, and at times they were all on different pages . . . like Aaron Copeland’s piece with two marching bands, each playing a different piece, coming from opposite ends of the street and meeting in front of the listener . . . it was like OMfuckingG I have to pee . . .

He says he will soon have a “gallery” of some “concept sketches” up on his “ragworks” blog page – the “sketches” are actually panels with layered irregular “patches” of worn and faded denim that will become the backs, sleeves and fronts of coats – he also has “boro” concept “throws” that will be available soon.

I did snag two photos of stuff on the floor . . .

BORO

. . . more stuff . . .

BORO

Well . . . Aunty P could have been sitting there naked and I don’t think he would have noticed, as he kept on incessantly about “ranru”, “noragi” and “yogi” and stuff I had never heard of . . . hmmm . . . maybe some denim shorts next visit, frayed and faded OR maybe a pair of denim pants like the ones I saw on the floor of the shop – missing the legs AND crotch . . .

BORO

Who is “John Locke” anyway? Oh, and some other guy . . . “Kant” . . . all I know is, if you know what these two had to do with sewing, let me in on the secret.

Time for something I understand . . . like a snack and cool sheets and some sleep . . . O X O X . . . (or something like that.) Aunty P . . . over-and-out . . .

