MY “pencil” story . . .

by bookindian

Today fakekarl (FK) had a new post, but I must say that the satirical wit has dulled . . . when I read the earlier stuff it was like a needle in my left index finger . . . fakekarl was my new Lenny Bruce . . . now, while I listen to Cibo Matto (a new thing, thanks to a 14 year old genie), I decided to give old FK one more chance before I delete the link . . . I can do that you know.

PENCIL

Back to Cibo Matto (“crazy food” in Italian) for a second or two. . . Cibo Matto reminds me of Vermillion Pleasure Night . . . the song “Know Your Chicken” is a song that could be from “Midnight Cooking” . . .

PENCIL

Artichoke” is probably my favorite track at this particular point in time . . . “peel my petals” . . . “Know Your Chicken” and “Birthday Cake” are right there with their collective noses pressed hard against the glass. (Songs are from “Pom Pom: The Essential Cibo Matto” CD). “Pom” in Korean means, “spring” – here in the U.S. “pom pom” is what the cheerleaders shake while they prance and jump, causing their butts to shiver and twitch – happens at HS pep rallies, basketball and football games!!

PENCIL

I’m a fan of the real Karl Lagerfeld, and for a while FK was as close to the real thing as I could get without leaving the couch. But I think I’ve eaten all the choice bits, so maybe it’s time to move on . . .

PENCIL

Maybe I’ll renew some old acquaintances . . . you know, like MY pencil . . . and sketch book, and Cynthia, La Petenera . . . or . . . I can’t remember names . . . but I do know that the little “retro” Pentax Optio 43WR that I bought for my oldest daughter several years ago, will be pressed into service, as I bought a new SD card for it yesterday (2 GB)

PENCIL

Here’s some pics taken with the Optio 43WR . . .

. . . . Gojira!! (Godzilla)

PENCIL

. . . starting to get back to it . . .

PENCIL

. . . I spent some time fondling the new iPod Touch at Best Buy in Carson City NV, on my way back into the void.

Why am I talking about this? Well, I get tired of taking the Canon out of its bag, turning it on and then framing the shot . . . so, the little Pentax is like “. . . wham, bam, thank you m’am . . . ” short and sweet, no commitment . . . Everyone remembers the “Diana” camera, little plastic toy that leapt into stardom in the artsy photo world way back, like 1970’s and 80’s.

PENCIL

. . . I wanted one (a Diana) but settled for a Spartaflex (2 ¼ sq format) – I don’t know where I got it . . . anyway, I did some work with it using out-of-date film and developer.

My Spartaflex . . . as seen with Optio-vision . . .

PENCIL

PENCIL

. . . the flash is harsh close-up . . .

PENCIL

. . . the ghost of Diana Vreeland was shaking my hand or something . . .

Oh, if you get a “Big and Tasty” meal at Mac D’s, eat it in the dining area or park somewhere, because it will leak in your lap if you try to drive and eat . . .

Pichas of Cibo Matto from . . .

