Road trip . . .

by bookindian

I took a day off and accompanied my daughter and two friends on a day-trip to Chalfant Valley and the Volcanic Tableland north of Bishop CA – went to see petroglyphs.

TRIP

The volcanic tuff at the Chalfant site is succumbing to the elements and vandals much faster than I had anticipated.

TRIP

A new “user friendly” barrier has replaced the chain-link fence . . .

TRIP

TRIP

TRIP

TRIP

TRIP

The photos above are from the primary group of Chalfant panels and contain elements not typical of the cultural landscape of the volcanic tableland. I’ve seen similar “shield” motifs at the Castle Gardens Site in Wyoming and a couple of sites in southern Inyo county.

I noticed new attempts to remove small sections of two panels . . . here’s one . . .

TRIP

. . . glad I did an extensive photo-documentation of the Chalfant site a number of years ago.

We also visited Red Canyon . . .

TRIP

. . . older removal of a panel section using a gasoline powered masonry saw . . .

TRIP

and an attempt by someone to camouflage some almost historic (1968) vandalism – the same set of initials can be found at the Fish Slough site, several miles to the south.

TRIP

Examples of the Public Land Use/Tea Party mentality at work in both instances . . .

and then the Chidago site . . .

TRIP

. . . finally ending up at Fish Slough. WHAT, no photos . . . ?? But here’s a link that has all the necessary information about how-to-find . . . uh . . . petroglyphs (not approved by BLM).

The group had a late lunch at Las Palmas Taqueria. a Mexican restaurant in Bishop . . . the portions are H-U-G-E and good.

I shot the photos with my “retro” Pentax Optio . . . 4.0 megapixels and the beast is s-o-o-o-o handy . . . the Optio is the size of a pack of cigarettes. I shot a bit of video footage with my old Flip video cam.

