No underpants . . .

by bookindian

I bought a book by Sherman Alexie this afternoon (The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian), and spent the 2.5 hours reading . . .

INJUN

it started kind of slow, and I almost gave it up, but after all the poor rez Indian crap it got good (after page 32) . . . yeh, there were some drawings, but the most disturbing part was the “discussion guide” just before the interview with Ellen Forney who did the illustrations . . . reminded me of “Indian in the Cupboard” . . . I taught “art” in a public elementary school, and I didn’t need a “discussion guide” . . .

Lenny Bruce was one of my role models (How to Talk Dirty and Influence People), and Charles Bukowski, Henry Miller . . . I read the novel from the perspective of someone who spent his childhood and young adult life on a “rancheria” in eastern California, so I have a different spin on life on the “rez” or reservation . . .

PINTO

I attended the Institute of American Indian Arts for one year, and was told that unless I cut my hair, I would not be allowed to continue attending said institution. WTF!!

The book is worth a read, but hopefully it won’t give the impression that poverty and alcohol are the primary reasons underlying the inertia that exists within the reservation communities . . .

