Pocket Pal

by bookindian

PAL

No, not pocket pool, pocket pal . . . I have a new iPod Touch as well as an older one without the camera, and I carry both with me every day.

Back to MY “pocket pal . . .

There is/was this little pocket size book that had a ton of offset printing and graphics information with the title “Pocket Pal” . . . I still have mine lying about somewhere . . . what does this have to do with my iPod Touch?? Well, with all the apps AND its small scale (pocket size), I don’t think about not having my camera (Canon), or a notepad, or a calculator or a portfolio – my “elevator pitch” is on my “pocket pal” . . .

Elevator pitch“, WTF?? . . . an elevator pitch is a communication tool, designed to give enough information to someone so they will have a sense of what you are talking about, a carefully planned, and well-practiced description about your services that your mother should be able to understand in the time it takes to ride up an elevator. . . . so I have photos of a virtual exhibit with Star Wars characters as “visitors” in a 1/20th scale maquette, shot with one of the camera apps on my iPod Touch.

PAL

. . . like the t-shirt said, “I’m so fucking . . . FUTURE . . . ” . . . only in Japan . . . neh?

International Paper publishes Pocket Pal: A Graphic Arts Production Handbook, and the 20th edition is available now . . .

PAL

Frank Romano, of the Rochester Institute of Technology School of Print Media, has once again brought his vast knowledge and experience to the fore in serving as editor of the 20th edition.

While updating all sections of the book, he has focused particularly on the major trends in digital printing and PDF workflows. The 20th edition of Pocket Pal® covers them concisely.

A nice addition to any library at $25 – you can get this baby at Amazon or from International Paper.

Sent from my iPod Touch – pics added . . .

