the assassin . . .

by bookindian

20120225-091338.jpg

Too eager . . .

I jumped at Baudelaire’s throat too quickly . . .

I was drunk . . . dreaming
overcome by the past . . .

Brassai,

Delacroix

no rhyming couplets,
only vibrant visual prose

On canvas, paper . . .

And the photographer Eugene Durieu
. . . nude “odalisques” and Moorish themed clothing,
backgrounds . . . and . . .

Alive during the time of Baudelaire

I understand . . .

Baudelaire was a romantic,

but that a was a hundred years ago . . .
Or more,
and this is now

that is why I question
the significance of Les Fleurs du Mal
. . today . . .

let’s dig out of the iambic rhyming “rap“hole

no more A-B-A-B or A-B-B-A

. . . find the deep song,
the canto jondo . . .

He afilado mi cuchillo . . .

Yes . . . I have sharpened my knife . . .

it thirsts . . .

Only blood will ease its craving . .
solamente la sangre . . .

. . . facilita la sed
(ease its thirst)

solamente la sangre . . .
solamente la sangre facilita la sed

La sangre de un poeta . . .

