re: insanity

by bookindian

If you’re a high milage person, I recommend watching the Insanity adverts on TV . . . there are some good exercises demonstrated . . . especially the push-up variations . . . go on YouTube and check-out the calisthenic workout videos . . .

Don’t buy the Insanity DVD’s.

If you want, do body weight stuff, slow and with purpose . . . it’s still good to use weights . . . free weights, not the machines.

I took a break from my routine at the gym cos I was getting in a rut . . . bored . . . now I do push-ups, air squats, and some dumbbell work at home, but I’m back at the gym 2-3 days a week . . . doing bench press and 45 pound bar curls (standard straight bar minus the weights).

When pressing on the bench, I use a 9/15/21 rep sequence . . . 9 reps are usually a warmup . . . I’ve graduated to 85 pounds of plates on the bar . . . not much you say . . . OK . . . here’s my routine . . .

45 lb bar biceps curl – 3 sets 15 reps . . . sometimes 21 reps . . . bar down to the waist, relax, contract and pull the bar up to your pecs . . . lower the bar . . . full extension of the biceps, relax . . . pull the bar up as before. If you bounce or rubber band the bar as soon as you hit bottom, you get nothing . . . remember . . . good form is important . . . go too fast and you lose it . . . good form.

I mix in 5 – 7 sets of bench (75 – 85 lbs) with 15 – 21 reps per set . . . the number of sets depends on how I feel on a given day, like how many days of rest between workouts . . . and do I feel any strain across my chest.

Before pressing the bar, I do leg raises and/or flutter kicks lying on the bench contemplating the ceiling tiles . . . 10 – 20 reps . . .

OK . . . toss in some farmer’s walk/carry, packing 50 – 70 pounds of plates or dumbbells . . . 35 meters per round . . . moderately fast. I usually do 5 rounds.

15 – 21 incline push-ups (3 – 4 sets) . . . I use the backend of a treadmill for width and minimal incline (about 6 inches) . . . sometimes I use the top crosspiece on the side of a squat rack for high elevation (approximately 24 inches high) – it’s not as wide as the treadmill, so I get a variation of resistance.

Air squats, 2 or 3 sets, 25 – 30 reps . . . all this in 40 – 45 minutes.
Warm-up before you start and stretch when you finish.

Je repete . . . I’ve been in the gym since August 2012 and I have access to a personal trainer . . . oh, like I said, this little program is 40 – 45 minutes top-to-bottom and that includes warm-up AND stretch . . .

I tried to find a pic for this post . . . but . . .

