more body weight stuff . . .

by bookindian

pull-ups . . . OMG !!

20130503-210300.jpg

can you do 10 pull-ups . . . or even one ?

I can’t . . . not even one, but I’m working on it.
Saw a how-to-do yer 1st pull-up video on YouTube a while back.

The drill starts using a “chin-up” grip on the bar (palms facing you) standing on a chair, arms tensed in an “L” position, then stepping off the chair with arms still tensed holding your body weight !!!

20130503-210310.jpg This is a “chin-up” . . .

First time I tried, it felt like I tore my biceps as I plummeted down onto my feet !!! But it got better . . . there’s this cable apparatus at the gym that has a horizontal bar about 6 feet 6 inches high (2 meters). . .

20130503-213707.jpg

I use this bar, grabbing on with a chin-up grip, push up to my toes, lock my arms in the “L” position, and raise my heels toward my butt . . . this lets your arms support your body. Now let your arms relax slowly, lowering your body until your knees touch the floor. I count to seven while dropping toward the floor.

Repeat one time . . . rest for about 60 seconds and have another go (sloppy seconds) . . . after three weeks I can do 6 sets of 2 reps . . . AND I can hold for a count of 2 half way down to the floor . . .

yeh, I know . . . I know . . . but are you 68 years old ???

And can you mix in 10 sets/9 reps pushing 95lbs on the bench; 5 sets/21 reps pulling 49.5 lbs seated row; farmer’s carry five 35 meter circuits, packing 50 lbs (25 lb plate in each hand); all this in 45 minutes . . . by yourself . . . no audience, just you.

I don’t repeat this workout every session, each day is a different mix . . . air squats, Aussie pull-ups, incline push-ups stationary recumbent bike . . . and the exercises mentioned above.

The “fitness” elite say you should be able to bench your body weight . . . what the fuck for ???

If you can do 8-10 pull-ups; 10 sets/9 reps pushing 105 – 115 lbs on the bench; 5 sets/12 reps of strict push-ups . . . and 5 sets of as many air squats as possible, you are in the realm of being physically fit . . . and you will look dangerous . . . no need to flaunt a “six pack” . . . a six pack of suds, now that’s a different story.

Today, alternated the following moves:

Bench press – 95 lbs (45 lb bar + 50 lbs plates)
5 sets/9 reps
5 sets/15 reps;

Seated cable rows – 49.5 lbs 5 sets/21 reps;

Farmer’s carry – 50 lbs (2/25 lb plates) 5 35 meter circuits.

Total time: 60 minutes (0715 – 0815)

Aussie” pull-up . . .
20130503-210248.jpg

Food for thought: depending on your body weight, pull-ups will be relatively easy or just plain HARD !!!
I weigh 205 lbs . . . so pulling 93 kilos up off the floor is a bitch . . . we’re talking “strict” pull-ups not the bullshit “kip” pull-up that’s the current rage in the fitness world . . .

Images from the Internet . . .

