the letter

by bookindian

Got a letter w/Heyday name
on return address corner
turned out that Heyday was the vehicle

. . . a request to submit
some my poema
to include
In
proposal to fund
anthology of writings
by Indians in Caliland.

u- u-u-uh . . .
well . . . why no one anthologize my stuff
alone by itself ??

IMG_3684.JPG

Maybe cos I don’t write about the “rez
fighting & drinking with John Wayne
or
maybe it’s Owens Valley Paiute/Pima ethnicity . . .

wha-a-a . . .

Paiute?
Pima?
Owens Valley?

Got no PhD

Don’t b’lieve in Cuh-lumbus
Or
Custer.

Don’t like “cowboys
or
dogs.

We dint dance no grass dance
No hey-ya hey-ya . . .

dint shot no buff-lo
got no horseback pony
no tipi
no feathers
no fancy buckskin beads
NO drum . . .

I’m not stereotypical Native American redman . . .
I no rezabayshun indun
I’m old hunting gathering aboriginal Great Basinindian” . . .

